Tag Archives: course

German Longsword Course 1/10 – Mon 09/09/2019

***TRAINING UPDATE***

WHAT: German Longsword Course 1/10: Vier Leger / Four Guards
WHEN: 8:00 PM
WHERE: Mahon Community Centre

Check Classes section for more details.

Fencing Introduction can be found >>> here <<<

Reading for tonight’s class can be found >>> here <<<

New Season Recruitment!

It’s that time of the year again!

On Monday 9/09/2019 @ Mahon Community Centre 8PM we’ll start our German Longsword Course – 10 weeks long medieval longsword course that will allow you to experience what Historical European Martial Arts (HEMA) is really about!

This course will teach you foundations of the XIV/XV Century ‘Art of Combat’ (Kunst des Fechtens) based on medieval treatises from the authors of Society of Liechtenauer that created a system known later as German School of Fencing which was taught in the Holy Roman Empire during the Late Medieval, Renaissance, and Early Modern periods. . This system sets up a framework on which all medieval combat techniques are based so while this course covers longsword only it’ll also set up solid foundations for other weapons as well.

This is considered to be a minimum required standard for free fencing (sparring) and as such is obligatory for all who want to move onto the Scholar rank and start participating in club activities!

More info: https://corkblademasters.com/10-weeks-german-longsword-course/

German Longsword Course 7/10 – Wed 07/08/2019

***TRAINING UPDATE***

WHAT: German Longsword Course 7/10: Thumb Grip, Zwerchhau & Schielhau
WHEN: 8:00 PM
WHERE: Mahon Community Centre

Check Classes section for more details.

Reading for tonight’s class can be found >>> here <<<

Training Schedule – Aug 2019

August 2019 Schedule:

Thu 01/08/2019 – Longsword Training
Sun 04/08/2019 – Longsword Training
Mon 05/08/2019 – *** Training Cancelled ***
Wed 07/08/2019 – German Longsword Course 7/10
Thu 08/08/2019 – Ringen Training
Sat 10/08/2019 – Cork City Military Show 2019
Sun 11/08/2019 – Cork City Military Show 2019
Sun 11/08/2019 – Coached Sparring: Longsword
Mon 12/08/2019 – Longsword Training
Wed 14/08/2019 – German Longsword Course 8/10
Thu 15/08/2019 – Longsword Training
Sun 18/08/2019 – Sidesword & Dagger Training
Mon 19/08/2019 – Coached Sparring: Sabre
Wed 21/08/2019 – German Longsword Course 9/10
Thu 22/08/2019 – Sabre Training
Sun 25/08/2019 – Blademasters League: Longsword
Mon 26/08/2019 – Sabre Training
Wed 28/08/2019 – German Longsword Course 10/10
Thu 29/08/2019 – Blademasters League: Sabre

Or click here to see our Schedule Page (bookmark it!)